Early sunsets…one of my favorite things.

As Jay Z would say “don’t call it a comeback”…but yes I am back to the blog.  It was either that or a really long facebook status. 

I am probably one of the only people who enjoys when it starts to get dark early.  Don’t get me wrong, I love when it starts staying light until really late, too.  I just like extremes, it’s probably why I love New England weather. 

This afternoon I was driving home from work at about 3:00 and it was already just a little bit dim outside.  The sun was just a little low in the sky, and it had that look of a winter’s afternoon (even though it was 60 degrees out, that’s the beauty of “thermal climate change”).  When I see the sun low in the sky at 3pm and I just happened to be home, there is only one thing that crosses my mind … General Hospital.  Nothing says cozy on a November (sweeps) afternoon like a little GH.  Needless to say I don’t follow any soaps these days, since I am a busy working hockey mom of three who has a lot of reality shows to keep up with, including the ingenious Dirty Soap.  But just the sound of GH in the background makes my house feel like a home to me. 

I still remember watching Luke and Laura get married after school at my Aunt Norma’s house.  She loved General Hospital as well, but it was pure coincidence that we both named one of our babies Luke.  Really.  I remember watching the highly publicized Robin and Stone romance with friends in college.   I always felt like daytime tv made a dorm feel more like home. 

But I wasn’t free in the afternoon again until the Fall of 2000.  Shortly after my first baby, Nicholas, was born, we somehow didn’t have cable.  I’m not sure what happened, but I have a hunch it had something to do with my darling husband’s frugality. Around 3:00 everyday, Nick would nurse.  It was then that I turned on a slightly fuzzy local ABC station to catch up on GH.  I had no idea what was going on, but I was thrilled that my beloved Laura had a Greek love child named Nikolas.  I would sit in a big recliner in my apartment and let my baby nap on my shoulder when he was done nursing.  He would snuggle up in that way that newborns do with their butts in the air.  When GH was over, it was dark out.  The evening was here, I had survived another day of motherhood. 

This afternoon I came home to a total shitshow…the kids had gotten report cards and Luke had somehow ripped his; my husband had realized he was stuck in Connecticut with all of Lexi’s hockey gear;  I found out I had made a typo in an email address so someone didn’t get the documents for a closing in Long Island that was happening, ummm, NOW; and the onions in my crockpot were still crunchy.  I turned on GH, I got to hear Sonny Corinthos’ voice for a few minutes until it somehow switched to Spongebob.  But then it got dark.  It is November.  I have Christmas catalogs to peek thru, wine to open, and I have survived another day of motherhood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

