Hockey Mom Blog – inaugural post of 2012

My blog is one year old this month.  Well, sort of.  I wrote my first post as a 2010 New Year’s Resolution, then didn’t hit “Publish” until December 31, 2010.   In January I was off and running and blogged myself right thru till the hockey season.  By spring I was convinced I would quit my job and become a professional mom blogger.  But  I didn’t.  The world of pro mom blogging isn’t really my jam, and there are plenty of women blogging the living heck out of motherhood anyway.  I took a step back.

A few nights ago I got a text from a friend that said “you better get going on your blog” and mentioned something about someone blogging about rink food or something.   Of course I am a little competitive, so when I was at the particularly delightful Veterans Memorial Rink in Somerville, MA …I thought I better blog about it.  They have a nice street hockey corner, flat screens and even a stack of picture books in the warm lobby.   The snack bar menu looked like it belonged an exit down 93 in the Italian North End.  Rigatoni, meatballs, you name it.  I took a pic of Lex with the yummy meatball sliders- 3  for $5.

Yes my daughter is adorable, the sliders are appetizing (if you are hungry from dieting like me…and let’s face it who isn’t this time of year?)  and the painted picnic table is cool.  Look at me I am hockey mom blogging…so relevant, so informative.  I even used a real camera! I wouldn’t count on seeing things like this very often.  Besides it was a little boring, am I right?

However the next time I get back to the Pixy Concession at Falmouth Ice Arena   expect a multi-page pictorial review.  Breakfast sandwiches, fried green beans, steak bombs…we’ll file it under Weight Issues Wednesday.

Ok hockey moms, hit me with your rink food tips and confessions.  What do you and your kids love and hate?  The good, the bad, and the ugly…let’s hear it.

This entry was posted in hockey mom, Uncategorized, working mom, youth hockey. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hockey Mom Blog – inaugural post of 2012

  1. AmyD says:

    You are soooo right….i completely forgot about the Falmouth Ice Arena Bacon, Egg, & Cheese Breakfast sandwich that is especially delicious after a night of hard core LRC.
    Best Lobster Roll: Warwick Jr. Hockey Assoc. Thanksgiving tourney food tent

  2. Lori says:

    Our rink has funnel fries. Best dessert ever. A basket of fried goodness.

  3. Cindia says:

    I love your blog. I have four boys from mites to bantams and we live in a rink. I definitely choose which rink I’d rather drive to with the lunch menu in mind. My husband doesn’t mind the nasty nuggets but I love being able to have a great lunch and watch my kids play. You’re in my vicinity. I love Foxboro sports center! They have the best menu and a warm area to eat and watch! Keep up your blog. It’s nice to hear other hockey moms experiences!

Leave a comment